Crochet · My Patterns

Comfy/Cozy/Warm Pumpkin Treat Bag – Free Crochet Pattern

I don’t know about you all, but fall is definitely in the air in my neck of the woods (and I couldn’t be happier).  Lower temps and the disappearance of the hoards of blackflies that plague us during the summer are very welcome to me.

I’ve spent some time this summer working on writing up some of my patterns, along with working on new ones, and it seems like as soon as August is over I start getting messages for items.  Ergo, I am declaring the busy handmade season officially here for me.  Bring on the coffee, yarn, and all the handmade goodness!

20180914_105857.jpg
Comfy/Cozy/Warm Pumpkin Bags

I made these little treat bags one night when I needed a quick finished item fix, and also was thinking of ways to give my two nieces their Halloween treats I always do up for them.  They’re done in similar stitching to my free Autumn Pumpkin Beanie from last fall.

img_3067
Autumn Pumpkin Beanie

These little treat bags take minimal yarn and work up very quickly.  I made two using the same skein of yarn and still have plenty left over.  When filled with candy they measure about 6″ tall and 15.5″ around.  I think they’d be great for classrooms or special trick-or-treaters.  There’s lots of time to make one (or a bunch) of these for Halloween or even Thanksgiving (hand them out for a treat, or use them as a table top candy dish/decoration). It’s a fairly simple pattern that whips up super quickly.  See how much fun they are: 20180916_093308.jpg

*This pattern hasn’t been tested by others.  If you find a mistake please let me know so I can fix it*

Materials:

  • 5mm crochet hook
  • Bernat Super Value Yarn in pumpkin and chocolate
  • 1/2 yard grosgrain ribbon (about 1/4″ wide) *I strongly suggest heat sealing the ends of your ribbon so it doesn’t fray. Just run the flame from a lighter across the edges and you’ll be good to go. You could also make a tie by braiding yarn, or making an I-cord or chain.
  • Yarn Needle (to weave in ends)
  • Stitch marker to mark beginning of round (optional)

Abbreviations/Instructions:

  • MR = magic ring
  • HDC = half double crochet
  • FPDC = front post double crochet
  • SC = single crochet
  • CH = chain
  • DEC = decrease one stitch by single crocheting two stitches together
  • STS = stitches
  • Beginning chain doesn’t count as a stitch unless otherwise stated.
  • When there is a number before a stitch you perform that number of repeats into the next stitch (2hdc means make 2 half double crochets into the next stitch).
  • When a number comes after a stitch, you continue working that number of stitches (hdc 4 means make 1 half double crochet in the next four stitches).
  • Repeat the pattern in parenthesis as many times as instructed

Pattern:
*Each round is ended by making a slip stitch join to the 1st stitch of the round*

Using the pumpkin color yarn:
1: In MR make 9 HDC.  Join = 9 sts
2: Ch 1, 2HDC in each stitch around.  Join = 18 sts
3: Ch 1, (HDC, 2HDC) around.  Join = 27 sts
4: Ch 1, (HDC 2, 2HDC) around.  Join – 36 sts
5: Ch 1, (HDC 3, 2HDC) around.  Join = 45 sts
6: Ch 1, HDC around.  Join = 45 sts
7 – 16: Ch 2, (FPDC, HDC 4) around.  Join = 45 sts (9 post sts & 36 HDC)
Cut pumpkin color and switch to brown yarn
17: Ch 1, SC around.  Join = 45 sts
18: Ch 1, (SC, DEC) around.  Join = 30 sts
19: Ch 1, SC around.  Join = 30 sts
20: Ch 1, (HDC 2, Ch 1, skip 1) around.  Join = 20 HDC & 10 CH spaces
21: Ch 1, SC in each st and each CH space around.  Join = 30 sts
22: Ch 1, 3SC in each st around.  Join = 90 sts
Fasten off and weave in ends
Using your ribbon, weave it in and out of each ch space from round 20, making sure both ends come out the front for tying.  Use this to cinch and/or tie your treat bag shut.

These bags hold plenty of treats. I filled the ones below with a bunch of fun-sized candy bars, bags of skittles, and air heads.


You’re always free to make as many bags as you’d like using my pattern, and are more than welcome to sell them. If you do however, I ask that you credit me as the designer. I’d also love it if you tagged me on social media with your creations (@comfy.cozy.warm on Instagram, @Comfy_Cozy_Warm on twitter) or post a pic to my facebook page (www.facebook.com/ComfyCozyWarm). I really enjoy seeing what you other awesome makers are creating using my patterns.

Happy crocheting!

Leave a comment