Uncategorized

Dishcloth Mania

As my resolve to use up the yarn I don’t normally use is still going strong (no one’s more surprised than I am), I dove into my boxes of cotton yarn last week.  As I went through it I discovered that I have a Tupperware tub and a box full of large skeins of Bernat Handicrafter, plus a small box of the single sized skeins (mostly more Bernat Handicrafter and a little Lily Sugar n Cream).  I decided to start in on the smaller skeins as I recently found a great group that does dishcloth swaps (I’ve never done one before, but I am looking forward to it) plus we need new dishcloths here at the house so it’s a great way to use up those single skeins.

  
This is the box of singles that’s left as of now.  Still more than I care to admit having (especially considering all the bigger skeins I have, but that’s another story), but it’s been dented at least lol.

The good thing about making dishcloths is that if I were so inclined, I’d never have to make the same thing twice.  There’s so many nice cloth patterns, more than I’ll ever try, but I can try a bunch and make something useful and use up my stash all at the same time, bonus on top of bonus.

  
This is the variety of dishcloths I made this past week.  It helped that the weather’s warmer so my husband’s sweater is a bit of a pain to work on, it can be a bit uncomfortable having a heavy sweater in your lap when you’re already warm.  I’m not much for hot weather (the snowflake cloth might be a hint of that), and small things like dishcloths are good warm weather projects.

I used a bunch of different patterns on these, like the Chinese Waves DishclothMamaw’s ChoiceWaiting RoomNai Nai’s FavoriteSeed Square DishclothSnowflakeThe Official Pattern of Revenge of the Dish Rag TagGranny Corner Dishcloth, & Prim & Proper.  I made two Chinese Waves Cloths and two Granny Corner Dishcloths, but for the most part I’ve changed up what I’ve been making and so amazingly I’m not sick of making the dishcloths yet.  I’ll be making more, and working on hubby’s sweater when the weather’s not too warm.  I have lots more dishcloth patterns to try out, and will keep on making them until this box in the picture is empty or I get sick of making them, whichever comes first lol.

Leave a comment