Crochet · My Patterns

Storage Basket Pattern

While cleaning out the closet underneath our stairs last weekend, I had a quick look through the box of novelty yarns that I keep in there.  I found a pack of 6 skeins of frilly scarf yarn that I bought, literally, years ago (it’s been 2 years, bare minimum, probably more).  No one I know wears those frilly scarves anymore, so I tried to come up with a use for it.  After mulling it over, I decided on a storage basket because, well, there’s six people in my home (3 of whom are children), so more storage is always needed.

 The yarn I used is called, appropriately enough, Frilly from Ice Yarns.  Normally if you knit it as instructed it makes those frilly scarves.  I didn’t knit or crochet into the side of it as recommended though.  I just held the strand the way you would normally hold yarn and used it as if it were a single strand.

This is a #6 bulky yarn, 100% acrylic, and I used an 11.5mm hook to crochet my basket with it.  It was a bit tight, but I wanted it like that so my basket would be sturdy and able to stand up on its own without flopping over.

I really like how it looks worked up.  It’s sturdy and holds its shape well.  My basket came out to be approximately 8″ across the bottom, and 7.5″ high.  I used 6 skeins of the Ice Yarns Frilly (they are 50 gram skeins with 25 meters per skein) with almost none left over.

In case anyone would like to make a basket like mine, I thought I’d share how I made it.  I realize this may not be a yarn that a lot of people just happen to have on hand, but i think that this would look good in other larger yarns.   Just remember that unless you want  (or don’t mind) a droopy basket, you’ll want to make sure you crochet tight with a hook size smaller than you would normally use.  It can also be made in other sizes quite easily, simply make the base circle smaller or larger, and then omit or add rounds to the body of the basket to get the height desired.  There’s a completely good reason for my basket’s size, i wanted to use all of this yarn that I had on hand.  Can’t think of a better reason than that lol

 Here is what I used:

6 skeins of Ice Yarns Frilly (300 grams, 200 meters)

11.5 mm crochet hook

large eye yarn needle

Abbreviations & Stiches used:
hdc = half double crochet

sc = single crochet

ss = slip stitch

ch = chain

hdc blo = half double crochet in the back loop only

hdc 3rd loop = half double crochet in the third loop (the loop behind the hdc stitch)

The picture on the left shows how you would insert the hook for a regular hdc stitch, while the picture on the right shows the placement for hdc in the 3rd loop.  You bypass the little v that you normally use and work into the third little loop right behind the stitch.

 * When joining, always slip stitch to the first hdc of the round.  The chain at the beginning of a round does NOT count as a stitch.  Also, this hasn’t been tested by anyone else, so please let me know if there are any problems.

 Pattern:

 1. 8 hdc into a magic loop, ss to first hdc = 8 stitches

2. Ch 1, 2 hdc in each stitch around, ss to first hdc = 16 stitches

3. Ch 1, (2 hdc, hdc) around, ss to first hdc = 24 stitches

4. Ch 1, (2 hdc, hdc 2) around, ss to first hdc = 32 stitches

5. Ch 1, (2 hdc, hdc 3) around, ss to first hdc = 40 stitches

6. Ch 1, hdc in the 3rd loop of each stitch around, ss to first hdc = 40 stitches

7 – 12. Ch 1, hdc blo around, ss to first hdc = 40 stitches

13. Ch 1, hdc blo in the first 7 stitches, ch 8, skip the next 5, hdc blo in the next 15, ch 8, skip the next 5, hdc blo in the last 8 stitches, ss to first hdc = 30 hdc & 16 chains

14. Ch 1, sc in the first 7 stitches, sc 8 in the ch space, sc in the next 15 stitches, sc 8 in the ch space, sc in the last 8 stitches, ss to first single crochet = 46 stitches

15. Ch 1, ss in each stitch around, join to first ss = 46 stitches

Fasten off and weave in ends

 That’s it, easy peasy right?  If you do decide to make a basket I’d love to see it, so please post a pic and tag me on instagram (@comfy.cozy.warm), twitter (@Comfy_Cozy_Warm), or post a pic on my Facebook page (www.facebook.com/ComfyCozyWarm).

 My basket got claimed by my 4 year old before I could even take pics.  It is now home to a bunch of Shopkins, and I think some Lalaloopsy dolls and My Little Pony characters.  But hey, I guess that’s what it’s for.

Leave a comment